Upcycling Ikea Lack Side Tables

About 6 years ago when I first had my twin boys I purchased a couple of Ikea Lack side tables for our basement for $7.99 each. These turned out to be a great decision as it didn’t matter how much my husband boys beat them up.  After years of my boys playing, coloring and drawing on them some ware and tare was starting to show. In the past I would have tossed them out but with my new found obsession with re-purposing things I had my mind set on finding a use for them.

The end result….

Ikea side table re-do

I am very happy with they way they turned out. I up-cycled these about a month ago and put them in our main floor family room. They have up held pretty good so far and are easy to wipe off any spilled drinks with a wet cloth.

This was another quick project with the longest amount of time being spent on cutting the wallpaper. The width of the wallpaper was not wide enough to cover the whole surface so I had to match up the design and apply it in 2 pieces but thanks to Mod Podge you cant even tell!

The supplies needed.

  • wallpaper design of your choice
  • Mod Podge
  • Mod Podge clear acrylic sealer spray
  • sponge brush applicator
  • exacto knife or scissors
  • Ikea Lack side tables

Apply the cut wallpaper to top of table by wetting the table underneath with water and then a generous amount of Mod Podge ensuring the whole area is covered. As you are applying the wallpaper gently brush on top of it with more Mod Podge. This helps seal it down to the table.

Once your table is completely dry you will want to finish it off with Mod Podge clear acrylic sealer spray. Make sure to let it dry completely between each coat. I applied 2 coats.

Voila your done!

Leave a Reply

